Seeing the less obvious

The next time I go all dreamy-eyed over some new camera gadget, I’m going to pull this pic out and remind myself that the camera is a tool.  That’s it, nothing more, a tool.  Photography is truly about learning to see, not the equipment you use.   Granted, a better macro lens could help me with a good depth of field, but I think the light was more to blame than my current lens.

I was meandering around a creek bed trying to catch a frog in a good photo spot when I saw this little guy.  Actually, I didn’t see him – not the first time.  I looked again and saw what I thought was a leaf.  Unlike the frogs, he obligingly stayed in one spot while I tried to get a good shot of him.

I must admit, my ability to see and translate that to good photographs is rather dependent on my mood at the time.  When I first head out on a hike, everything is beautiful and I can’t wait to photograph it.  It goes something like this:

  • Heading out – me:  oh wow, look at that light coming through the trees!  I have to get a pic of that!  Ooooo is that a frog?
  • Halfway through – me:  trees.  That’s it here, nothing to see but trees.  Do you know how hard it is to get a decent pic of just trees?
  • 3/4 of the hike later – me:  my feet hurt.  I’m getting a blister.  Screw this stuff, I’m tired.  Picture?  Not happening.
  • Almost to the car – me: I can do this….one foot…at a time….. just one more….

To be fair, my hikes are usually not nice gentle walks.  Noooo I have to pick the ones with the gorges, the steep hills, the honest to goodness mountains.  I thought my heart would explode on one Catskill hike, but I got that far and I wasn’t going to quit.  Nope.  I could barely walk the next day, but it was worth it. 

To be completely honest, I’m not really a hard-core hiker.  I’m casual, out of shape, with no muscles to speak of.  Casual hikes are boring though – like walking around your neighborhood.  I like the cool stuff that offers good photographic opportunities.   I guess eventually I’ll get into shape if I crawl up one more mountain or two.

2 thoughts on “Seeing the less obvious

  1. Nice capture, I love the way you can see the surface tension on the water. I look forward to reading through the rest of you blog and picking up a few tips!

Leave a Reply

