How did you get here?

I’m fairly new to this whole blogging concept.  I knew there were blogs out there starting to replace the media outlets, and I’ve even read some here and there.  Up until now though, I didn’t explore the blogging arena for myself.  I’m still not sure that anyone actually wants to read this stuff – seriously, what can I have to say that’s attention grabbing and all?  I’m pretty much a boring person and I’m ok with that.

Now that I actually have a blog I’m fascinated by the whole statistic thing.  I can see how many people visit, which pages they click on, and if they clicked a link from somewhere to get to my page.  It’s addicting.  And even though I’m pretty certain my husband was responsible for the one search engine term to date, it’s a thrill to see that someone actually looked me up.

That said, I’m appalled at some of the links that people use to get to my site.  How did my blog become linked to sites with words like sex and bladder incontinence?  Is it something I’ve done, or something I haven’t done? Occasionally I’ll check the site myself to see if I can find the link, but I think I’m going to have to stop that.   

While I’m happy that people are checking my photography out and linking to this site, please know this: if you navigate to this site through a questionable website with my link on it, I didn’t put it there.  I didn’t have anything to do with it, or with the trojan virus most likely exploring your hard drive. 

I do suggest if you’re one of those people checking out my site from a link not on WordPress – do a virus scan.  Just to be safe.  It will make me feel a whole lot better about the questionable websites I see popping up in my link section.

2 thoughts on “How did you get here?

  1. Hi –
    Well I found your blog the old fashioned way – the wordpress photography tag.
    I know what you mean about the links as I’ve wondered like you: “how in the world?!?!”
    I think my eyes were permanently scarred by the one website I checked on. (why would people post that?! There should be a warning first)
    So like you I don’t look at them anymore.

    • I stopped after Norton went haywire with flashing bells and whistles – a trojan virus on a seemingly ok site set it off. It’s just odd – all I can assume is some search engine is pulling our links up or whatever. WordPress tags are safer!

Leave a Reply

