The local farmer’s market

This Saturday I put a down payment on a turkey.  Really.  I didn’t realize just how small of a deposit it was until I read the pricing list they gave me.  This free-range pampered turkey better taste absolutely delicious for the price he’s costing.  

Every Saturday I try to head to the local farmer’s market – sometimes I make it, sometimes I’m busy.  If you don’t go early enough, they run out of the best stuff like lettuce, eggs, and berries.  The market starts off with mostly plants in the spring and progresses to apples and winter squash before the snow comes.  Unlike the larger market downtown, this one doesn’t run through the winter.

I love being able to walk to the market.  I trotted home this weekend with a massive bag of basil (for pesto!) 2 dozen eggs, various tomatoes and onions, and a bunch of dahlias.  I couldn’t resist photographing the Zinnias (not dahlias, thanks to Anna for the correction) but by the time I got around to it about half had died.  Unlike pampered hothouse flowers, the farmer’s market flowers are picked and sold at the peak of their life.  A shame really – I enjoy watching flowers unfold from bud to flower.

One of these days if I can get up the courage to bring a few model release forms to the market, I’m going to ask some of the vendors if I can photograph them.  The goat guy (he has a name, but it doesn’t stick like the goat nickname does) is an especially interesting character.  Last summer he brought bags of aged goat manure along with his goat’s milk soap and maple syrup to the market.  That day I really regretted not driving to the market – there was no way I could make it home dragging a 25 lb bag of poo for my garden.

The food project I mentioned in an earlier blog grew (sorry) out of the produce I brought home from the market.  I think if I could come up with interesting shots of produce and categorize them by place of origin I would have a fairly decent project going.  I prefer to support my local farmers over the grocery stores.  Most of them haven’t been able to afford the organic certificate process, but they use sustainable practices and farm the land their families have held for generations.   

On cold winter days this year we’ll be able to enjoy the taste of summer because I try to freeze as much produce as I can.  During apple season the house smells of delicious applesauce and spices that I leave cooking in the crock pot for hours at a time.   I’ll probably end up freezing parts of the promised turkey as well – even a small turkey is a lot of meat for just us.  He better be plucked and oven ready – I am so NOT scalding and plucking a turkey!

4 thoughts on “The local farmer’s market

  1. that flower looks more like a Zinia..

    Anyhow, goat people tend to always be interesting. I can speak from experience. I used to own goats, and hope to some day own some again. Wonderful pets, they were my de-stress tool back in the day. Still miss them

    • Oops! Zinia it is, my mistake. I asked the goat guy once about his maple syrup process, and when he finished telling me the details I said “wow, that’s a lot of work!” He grinned and told me “it’s not work if you love it.” Certainly a well-balanced view on life.

Leave a Reply

