A summer day

I didn’t get to blog yesterday for a very good reason – I wasn’t here.  My plans for the day went bonkers, and I ended up, of all places, in a country fair after my intended shoot at Huyck Preserve.  I have a good many photos to share, but I have to spread them out over the next few days because there’s simply so much to tell.

My day started out with a little voice whispering in my head “this is a really BAD idea” – it’s not a good sign when I start hearing it before I even get there.  I had shot once before at Huyck Preserve already and came home with a few decent pics of a waterfall, several blisters, and jelly legs from scrambling up and down the gorge.  I wanted more photographs though – I hadn’t managed to capture the main waterfall because that would require me to lug a tripod into the preserve.  

I should add that my tripod is no measly, thin, cheap piece of work.  It was originally purchased to hold the weight of a large format camera – to say it’s sturdy is an understatement.  It’s also quite heavy.  I wouldn’t have to worry about the tripod standing up to the rush of the water, but I wasn’t looking forward to carrying it and my camera bag all the way into the woods.

I got there, and noticed the grist mill right across the street had a little sign that it was open.  I’ve never seen it open, much less offering tours of the mill.  It’s rather old – I lost the promotional brochure so I don’t know the exact date, but it’s been around for at least 200 years give or take a decade.  So, me and my hiking boots and a couple of young kids with their grandparents explored the mill with the 70-year-old tour guide.  Thank goodness for 1600 ISO.

After the mill tour, I headed back to the waterfalls.  I would have cheerfully killed someone for a cold bottle of water halfway through the hike. 

On my way home, after a warm bottle of water had slightly restored my sanity, I remembered that the Altamont fair grounds were in the same general vicinity.  I knew the fair was supposed to run this week, but I wasn’t sure if it was anything more than the crappy rides and nasty food variety of fair.   Turns out, it was the real deal – barns of critters, blue ribbons for the best pickles, and a whole day of contests, judgings, and shows. 

I want to go back before the fair closes, but I’m not sure that will happen.  If anyone reading this is in the Albany NY general area, check out the fair.  It’s worth going to see, even with the crappy rides and weird foods (fried Oreos? really?)

In the interest of full disclosure, I did have to edit out a really weird spot of lens flare in this pic.  Otherwise, it’s straight from the camera – no filters, no gimmicks, nothing else.

Leave a Reply

