A creative block

I feel old.  Not that I’m old, not really – I’m just feeling it today.  Blame it on the weather, blame the couch I wrestled down the stairs a few days ago (bruises and sore muscles abound) blame it on some weird sort of depression – for whatever reason, I’m feeling down. 

I go through these cycles now and again – I hit the bottom and can’t seem to create anything worthwhile.  I have ideas.  I have lots of ideas – but everything seems pointless, or I simply don’t have the energy to do anything about it.  I guess for every creative high I have there must be a corresponding low.  I’ve learned that the best way to deal with it is to ignore it as best I can and continue to function.  If I sit around and vegetate, I take a heck of a lot longer to come out of the trough.  I don’t like myself much when I’m like this, and I would prefer things to cheer up and get with the program as soon as possible.  Funnily enough, my brain doesn’t always get the pep talk. 

So, despite my feeling bleh, here’s another attempt at the kitchen series.   At least the sporadic rain produced a nice soft diffused light from my window.  I really do think that metal objects make a more interesting shot, but perhaps I love high contrast a wee bit too much for my own good.

In many ways, although this blog is first and foremost a journal, it’s a good impetus to push me through the blah days.  I’m not really trying the whole 365 project but I’m pretty close.  Having a need – if you can call it a need – to create something helps get me moving even when I’m not really in the mood to shoot.

Leave a Reply

