Fur-tography

I love my little furry critters, I do.  They snuggle with me, purr a lot, and offer unconditional love (as long as I feed them, that is.)   I wrote about one of our cats, Pouncer, in this blog post a while back.  His slightly younger harem consists of Eden, queen of all she surveys, and Charlotte, better known as Toes for her weird habit of prancing around on her tippy toes.  They all live together inside in fairly perfect harmony, at least until I get the catnip out.

They’re cute and they’re lovable, but I do NOT love their fur.  It’s everywhere.  No matter how much I brush, vacuum, and clean up after them, it seems that there’s always a small clump of fur scudding across the hardwood floors in the breeze of the ceiling fans.  It’s embarrassing and annoying. 

I’m about ready to shave them because of what happened today.

I know my camera sensor needs cleaning – it has nasty little dust specks here and there and I haven’t quite worked up the courage to manually clean it.  Today, it had a prime sample of fur dangling in front of it.  Try as I might, I couldn’t get the automatic sensor cleaning cycle to do anything more than wave it around. 

Fur doesn’t look that large until it’s on your digital photograph.  Then it looks like a piece of rope draped across your lens.   

So, I resigned myself to doing the dangerous deed.  I locked the mirror up in the manual cleaning mode, and shut the ceiling fan and air conditioner off.  The less dust floating around while I had the sensor exposed, the better.  I dug a pair of tweezers out of a pile of random stuff and got to work.

I can’t touch the sensor.  I know that.  I really don’t want to mess up my nice expensive camera by mucking up the sensor without the proper cleaning fluids and tools.  Mental note: I need to order those.  This piece of fur wasn’t actually on the sensor though, it was dangling from the mirror mechanism.  One breathless second later, the fur was firmly clasped in my tweezers and I closed the gaping hole over the sensor.   Problem solved – now my photographs don’t have a giant piece of fur in them.

I’m still seriously considering setting a new fashion trend among the neighborhood cats.   Short fur can be easier to keep clean, you know.

In keeping with today’s post, this abstract is actually a cat toy.  A well played with, slobbered on, cat toy.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fur-tography

  1. Elizabeth;

    We have three white German Shepherds living with us so we understand the hair problem very well. In fact my wife put a plaque on the wall which reads: “No outfit is complete without dog hair.”

    I hate to clean the sensor on my camera but when I have to, I use Visible Dust products. They are expensive but good. I don’t know if they still offer it, but they had one (the one I have) that consists of a brush made of fibers that builds up a static charge when the motor in the handle is turned on. Run it for 10 seconds and there is enough of a charge that it will suck the dust off the sensor.

    As you know, cat hair will be with you as long as you have cats and will last well past their demise. The question might then become what to do with it. My cousin has four collies and she collects the hair from time to time and sends it off to someone who spins it into yarn. My cousin has made hats, gloves and I believe sweaters. It really is attractive yarn. I think she might use this company:
    http://www.vipfibers.com/
    They do cat fur yarn too.

    If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.

  2. Oh my! Reading your post made my hands sweat! I haven’t had to do it yet, but I’m dreading the sensor-cleaning job when the day comes. My three Cattle Dogs blow coat year-round. That’s not what the standard says, but it’s true. I wouldn’t lie about that! I used to like to fantasize about a life without dog hair clinging to every surface, but I discovered it’s highly over-rated. I do recall that when I had a cat the hair problem was much worse, but I’d gladly forfeit a hairless abode if it meant my cat could be back with me. It’s been five years and I still miss him. So go take some pics with your nice clean sensor and give the kitties a smooch. Oh, and thanks for dropping by my blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

