Returning to Ann Lee Pond

As I sit here writing this post, tiny balls of sleet pound against my window.  A few of the specimens are not so tiny, and they float instead of fall to the ground.  I refuse to concede the possibility of snow in November, so I’m resolutely ignoring the fluffy bits. 

Today’s photograph is from the glorious days of late summer/early fall, bugs, heat, and all.  Funny how I find myself missing it now, although when I took this pic with sweat running down my back, the prospect of fall and winter weather wasn’t so nasty. 

Earlier in the summer I wrote this post about my first visit Anne Lee Pond in the Shaker community historic site.  At the time, I commented on the abundance of grape vines and the tiny green grapes draping themselves all over the place.  Everywhere I looked, tall trees dangled ropes of grape leaves from the top of the canopy, or were slowly being strangled by the strong vines climbing up the trees.  I decided (and commented) that I planned to return to the pond at the end of summer to see exactly what kind of grapes they were.

I have to believe that the Shakers planted them.  They certainly don’t look wild, although they’ve gone wild enough and conquered the surrounding areas.  At first I thought they were Concord grapes – they’re the right shape and cluster, and the right color.  A quick google says they’re too small to be Concords.  So, I really have no idea what kind of grapes they are.

They could be wild.  They could be an heirloom strain that the Shakers squeezed for wine, who knows.  Either way, they gave the bushes and trees a wild sweet scent, and I’m sure they made quite a few birds and beasties tipsy.

Leave a Reply

