Ice and abstract

I recently received my latest copy of Digital Photo Magazine, most likely my last unless I shell out some money now that the initial sub has lapsed.  It’s a handy little magazine despite the fact that purely half of the magazine is made up of just advertisements. 

Anyway, one of the articles caught my attention.  Specifically, one of the photographers: Tiffini Myers, a photo student of the author from the Art Institute of California.  Unlike a lot of the photographers featured in the magazine, Ms. Myers shoots images that I relate to: abstracts.  If you’re interested in seeing her images, go here for her Flickr stream.  Incidentally Ms. Myers, I suggest a watermark is a really good idea now that you’re exposed to more people. 

My favorite part of the article was the explanation of each image – how it was shot, and what, exactly, the subject was.  The images ranged from abstracts of vases to a car window in a car wash, and they all were vibrant and interesting.  Her images were inspiring – I don’t work with color and abstract as much as I would like to, and perhaps this article was the push I needed to go experiment some more.     

In the spirit of explanation, this image is of icicles.  After our last 8-9 inches of snow (on top of 5-6 already) the icicles hanging off our house have grown to epic proportions.  Despite the obvious safety issues, they’re beautiful.  If the ones in the front grow a little more, I can get decently lit images of the 3 foot long spikes dangling off our eaves and the power line.   Despite precariously clinging to a ladder, the best image I’ve gotten so far is a lower version hanging off our air conditioner.

It’s not very colorful at all, and I debated making it a pure monochrome image.   It lost some of the richness of the shadows, so I stuck with the color after all.

4 thoughts on “Ice and abstract

  1. For all your talk of wanting my 70 degree, 10% humidity, cloudless days (of which I had yet another one today 😐 ), there is absolutely no substitute in my book for the beauty of frozen water. Whether it be the icicles, feet of snow, or vigilent cattails standing guard at the edge of a frozen creekbed, there really seems to be no end to the number of ways you can capture a glimpse into God’s miracle liquid.

    As far as not exhibiting much color, I find the image to be more elegant for it. Water is colorless, it’s only the refraction of light through it that lets you catch that glint of color. And for all the wonder of a rainbow, if you had caught the full spectrum, the picture would have ceased to be about the subject icicyle and become more about light and how it interacts with a medium; I appreciate the subtle coloring and how it highlights the ice instead of relegating it to the status of afterthought.

  2. I like this image. Just enough included to give a grasp on the subject. And I like that you kept it in color, i think it needed the little reflections of color in there.
    You will notice my theme as of late is ice too. I wish I could think of where I put the images of the ice from last year. When the 2 feet of snow was melting off the roof. We had ice of 3 or 4 feet in length as well. And right after i took the pictures it came crashing down.

Leave a Reply

