Did I happen to mention…?

This is sort of awkward, but I figured it’s time to confess I’m guilty of concealing a secret from you guys – the few who regularly follow this blog.  If anyone else out there is interested in my personal life, feel free to read and chime in.

I failed a test yesterday.  Specifically, I failed a preliminary test for gestational diabetes.  Not in a good mood here.

Yup, what I’m trying to say in a convoluted way is – I’m pregnant.  About 7 months (30 weeks,) actually.  That’s why I’ve been photographing things in and around the house, because frankly, going on photo shoots when you can’t even bend over isn’t my idea of fun. 

My due date is somewhere near the end of May, so I’ll probably be absent for a while on the blogging front until I get the whole baby thing under control.  We’re having a boy – haven’t decided on the name yet – and so far, everything except the darned blood sugar issue is looking good. 

Since I failed the first test for diabetes, soon I’ll get to do a 3 hour diagnostic test to see if I really have this gestational diabetes stuff.  If I fail that, the best case scenario is a special diet and finger pricks every 3 hours, worst case includes insulin.  At this point I’m really hoping I’ll pass. 

I’m super excited, scared, and busy all at the same time.  Having a kid isn’t something to take lightly, and I’m neck-deep in car seat reviews and diaper details.  This kiddo is our first, so everything is new and slightly scary.  And expensive – the car seat racket alone is going to cost us an arm and a leg – it’s something along the lines of a college textbook scam with the added guilt trip of safety issues.  I won’t even mention the murky netherworld of video baby monitors and strollers. 

So here’s hoping the next cocktail of cough syrup (that’s pretty much what the test drink tastes like) isn’t the harbinger of bad news.   And if the news is bad, at least it’s only for about 10 more weeks.  I can handle 10 weeks.  After that, you guys will probably see a whole lot of black and white baby photographs!

9 thoughts on “Did I happen to mention…?

  1. Glad you finally told others. Please let us know as soon as possible what the test findings are. Tom and I will be praying for you. We love you, (new signiture) Grandma Diana

  2. Congratulations!!!! I’ll save the concerns for you and the doctors, though I will offer my thoughts and prayers. Without going into details, (which you will probably hear PLENTY of from unsolicited sources), we…my wife…, had some issues 19 years ago and 16 years ago. We now have a 19 year old boy/man and a 16 year old girl…..ok…, woman! This is the start of a very joyous time for your family. And remember, Women have been giving birth for thousands of years. You’ll do fine! Test results will be what they are, but you and the little guy will post many pictures by this time next year.

    Congrats again to you and ‘Daddy’, and grandparents, too!

    • Thanks! And it’s quite appropriate for you to comment, considering that you were there for your wife for support and everything – all the stress and none of the fun stuff! Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  3. Congrats! I will send prayers your way for the test. In the end everything will be ok though (easy for me to say I know). Looking forward to those BW baby photos.. I will have to ration myself as I will be wanting one then and that’s SO not possible right now (well it is.. just not smart)
    Take care
    Anna

    • Thanks 🙂 I promise I won’t go kid crazy and post too many – just enough to enjoy before they get boring. If the kid takes after me at all, baby pics will be the only ones I can get before he starts running from the camera!

Leave a Reply

