Stolen content: the perils of the internet

Well, it finally happened.  Or rather, I finally caught someone in the act.  I found my “stuff” – a whole blog post plus photo – yanked and added to someone else’s site.  Granted, they didn’t try to remove watermarks or claim the stuff as their own, but still.  It’s a shock to see your content somewhere you didn’t put it.

Thanks to one of the volunteer mods on the WordPress forums, I was able to check the internet for places that linked to my blog – this site showed up during that search because they didn’t bother to remove the link to my blog.  Thank goodness for small blessings. 

In case you’re interested, try searching google with this – link:http://yourwebsitehere.  I plugged it into both the blog search and the web search and got different results both times.   You can also go to this webpage – http://www.opensiteexplorer.org/ – and plug-in your website link to see what shows up.  The vast majority of things that showed up for me were from comments I made on other blogs, as well as a few blogroll links.   Many thanks to TimeThief for giving me these links.

If you’re specifically looking to see if your images have been stolen, http://www.tineye.com/ is one of the best places on the web to do reverse searches.   Handy little site that.

I’m not really sure why my content showed up on someone else’s site.  At best guess, I would say some web crawler caught it while trolling for certain terms – I would think that content from a relatively obscure blog isn’t high on the list of things to plagiarise.   

As for the stolen content, I’m currently involved with a cease and desist request – apparently some “news” site pulled my content and the site that I found pulled the content from them.  If I can’t get in touch with the site I found, I’ll have to go straight to the service provider (somewhere in Czechoslovakia, I think) and try to get them to force it down.  Fun times.  

I’m thinking I might need to modify my watermark and make it a lot more obnoxious from here on out.  Sorry guys, I know it’s annoying – but it might just help locate stolen images in the future.

2 thoughts on “Stolen content: the perils of the internet

  1. thanks for the links! I´ve been curious for a while since there are pages that refer to my blog but when I go there I cannot see the relationship between my page and my content

    • A lot of those links are probably spam links – they’re just trying to get you to click their link so they can sell things (or infect your computer with a virus.) I’ve noticed that most referral links on my blog ending in co.cz are spam – if you report them to support they’ll block the link for you.

Leave a Reply

