I’m getting the hang of this

At least, I think I am.  I’ve learned that motion blur happens a lot, despite a shutter speed of 1/400th of a second.  Small children are unpredictable, so I have to keep my eye on the smile at all times.  Taking a lot of pictures is key – otherwise I waste a perfectly good cloudy day thinking I got the shot, when really, his eyes were blurry yet again.

I’ve also learned that it helps to have someone else there to distract the kiddo from the huge black box in front of my face.  He refuses to smile for me, since to him, it’s not me!  Having daddy around to play with him, talk to him, and make silly faces ensures that I won’t get repeated shots of a grumpy baby.  I know I sound like a doting momma, but seriously, it shouldn’t be this hard to get photographs of a baby.

Now that he’s able to (mostly) hold up his head by himself we can take different shots and poses.  Before, I was limited to {shot of baby on blanket} or {shot of baby laying down} or {shot of someone holding baby}.  He’s getting big – he’s around 16 pounds right now, double his birth weight by three months – the average time to double is 6 months.  He’s wearing 9 month clothes – a big baby!  He’s such fun to be around right now.  He’s developed a personality and he’s responsive to us.  He doesn’t just eat and sleep – he plays, smiles, giggles, and tries his darndest to talk.

Leave a Reply

