Getting back on my feet

IMG_1117

Wow.  Boy, do I feel horrible.  I’ve severely neglected this blog, and while I have reasons, I have to say I’m so sorry!  I’m not sure anyone’s even reading this blog anymore, and I can’t blame anyone for deciding that I dropped off the face of the earth.

It’s been a difficult few months, to say the least.

Brief update: we’ve settled in D.C. pretty well in our new house out here in suburban-ville after a little over a month of roughing it in a hotel.  While we were in the process of selling one house and moving to D.C., I experienced another miscarriage, and this one put my medical issues over the edge into serious business.  After a few weeks of very difficult life, I finally got a diagnosis of Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis – an autoimmune disease that causes my body to attack my thyroid.  Luckily, unlike most auto-immune diseases, this one is the easiest to treat.

As a side note, I have to say that anyone who thinks that chronic fatigue is simply being really tired (and/or lazy, I got that reaction too) it’s totally not.  It’s more a lack of energy to even get on your feet, let alone take care of an energetic toddler.

Thankfully, I’m back on my feet with the assistance of the wonderful pharmaceutical industry.  And no, I’m not being sarcastic.

No sooner had I gotten that under control than I discovered a side effect of a correctly working thyroid: it’s a heck of a lot easier to get pregnant! (The thyroid regulates your hormones, among other things.)  And while I’m really happy and excited for baby #2 to come along, this pregnancy has been a bumpy ride.  When I heard that the new Duchess of whatever Kate what’s-her-name (Prince William’s wife) was hospitalized for a difficult first trimester, I confess to feeling a little smugly sympathetic that even royals have to put up with what we commoners do.  Barfing has this weird class leveling ability.

So, you can maybe forgive me for not posting as much as I should have lately?

Image: Our new house is adjacent to one of Virginia’s innumerable official battlefield sites, and it makes a lovely place to go walking.  There’s a decrepit silo on the park site that had Corbin intensely curious – he kept saying “Up! Up!” and pointing to it.  Thanks to photographer mommy here, I have a picture I can use as blackmail in his teenage years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 thoughts on “Getting back on my feet

  1. Welcome back!
    I know what you mean about chronic fatigue, its no fun and some people think you’re putting it on.

    Anyway, onwards and upwards. Great shot by the way, he looks really intrigued.

  2. I think I must have found your blog just all of these life changes were happening to you, so I’m glad to see you settling in, healthy and back in action — because, selfishly 🙂 , I really wanna see more of your work!

  3. I just took a chance today to see if you were posting photographs and there you were. I don’t look regularly but when I do I have really enjoyed your pictures. However now I will understand if you post occasionally. Take care.

Leave a Reply

